Understand that after you start your case and file for a divorce or separation, you are NOT done.
Divorce filing Orange County California
You will have to file additional papers to complete your divorce
In California, to file for divorce, either you or your spouse must have lived in California for 6 months and in the county where you are filing your case for at least 3 months.
If you do not meet these requirements, you can file for legal separation, then file an amended petition for divorce in the county in which you live once the residency requirements are met.
If you want to terminate a domestic partnership registered in California, either through a divorce or a legal separation, neither you nor your partner needs to live in California.
The divorce or legal separation court process can get very complex, especially if you want to incorporate support orders, child custody orders, and orders dividing your property/assets.
At the Orange County Family Law Offices of Yanez & Associates our legal team is ready to assist you with your dissolution. We have handled hundreds of divorce cases in the counties of Orange, Los Angeles; Riverside. We will be happy to sit down with you, to review you dissolution case.
Disclaimer: California Family Law Attorney Disclaimer
Table of Contents